Oh the AI art, oh the possibilities… (created using DALL-E 2)

ChatGPT and AI Art: Why It Will NOT Be the End of All Good Things

And which risks still apply

Scollurio
6 min readFeb 1, 2023

--

Yes, it’s another one of those articles. But I’ll get straight to the point, I promise. Let me start with a full disclosure: I wrote this article myself. I do ask ChatGPT a few questions, but those sections are clearly marked as such.

Ok, let’s go.

The biggest risk hardly anyone thinks about

Convenience.

Convenience, in my point of view, is the biggest destroyer of skill and individuality in our modern society. Yes all sorts of tech gadgets make our life more convenient. It’s a cool thing to have a mobile phone device with you at all times, in case you get lost in the woods or a meteor strikes you on your head and you need immediate medical attention. Great.

But.

Very often, when we enhanced our life with some tech, made it easier and more convenient, we paid for it either with our health or with a skill we will no longer have moving forward.

Let me explain.

  • The remote control made sure we approximately burned 50 calories less each day (or prevented our kids from getting some tiny exercise).
  • Google Maps and GPS navigation took away…

--

--

Scollurio

Hailing from Austria, a self-employed graphics designer and writer since 2009. Loves long walks in the forest, rain, thoughtful solitude and silly raccoons.