lego minifigure carrying a keyboard key cap
Photo by Ken Suarez on Unsplash

The Most Satisfying Clicky Mechanical Keyboard Switch

Taking your mechanical keyboard experience to the next level

Scollurio
5 min readJul 16, 2020

--

As many of you may already know, I love mechanical keyboards for writing and I urge you to try one yourself in 2020. For writing I by far prefer “clicky” switches. Linear ones (i.e. Cherry MX Red, Black) just don’t give enough feedback, except you plan to bottom them out by smashing into the keys anyways and tactiles ones (i.e. Cherry MX Brown) feel “scratchy” and unpleasent to me.

I like the snappy response of clicky switches.

Cherry MX Blue and Green

The most obvious and readily available choice for clicky switches are, of course, Cherry MX Blues. You can get those in most commercially available, pre-built keyboards. Cherry MX Greens are a bit rarer and mostly used for the larger keys on a keyboard, like the spacebar. They are essentially “heavier” Blues. It takes a bit more force and the resulting click feels a bit more satisfying.

So is the Cherry MX Green switch “clickier” than the Blue switch? Technically, no, but it certainly feels this way. Still, for me as a true “clicky switch enthusiast” this isn’t enough. I want something “snappier” something “stiffer”, something “crisper”. By the choice of my words you might already realize…

--

--

Scollurio

Hailing from Austria, a self-employed graphics designer and writer since 2009. Loves long walks in the forest, rain, thoughtful solitude and silly raccoons.